Pack 831's
Home Page
What is Scouting?
Cub Scout Ranks
Event Calendar
Contact Us

Cub Scout Pack 831
(Indianapolis, Indiana)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login
"Do Your Best"
Advancement performance in Cub Scouting is centered on its motto: "Do Your Best." When a boy has done this—his very best—then regardless of the requirements for any rank or award, it is enough; accomplishment is noted. This is why den leaders, assistants, and parents or guardians are involved in approvals. Generally they know if effort put forth is really the Cub Scout's best. 

Cub Scout Ranks
The Cub Scout program is centered primarily in the den, home and neighborhood, but often takes place in the outdoors. It leads to advancement through six ranks.


The Bobcat badge is earned first, before all other ranks. The trail to Bobcat involves learning the Cub Scout Promise, Law of the Pack, and signs and symbols of Cub Scouting, with an introduction to Character Connections®. After earning the Bobcat rank, new members begin work on the rank appropriate to their age: Tiger Cub, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos.

Tiger Cub

Tiger Cub rank is for boys who are in the first grade (or are 7 years old).
After earning Bobcat rank, first-graders or boys at least 7 years old work on the Tiger Cub badge. Its 15 requirements are divided evenly among five achievements. Each of the five includes a family activity, a den activity, and a den outing called "Go See It."


The Wolf rank is for boys who have completed first grade (or are 8 years old).
For the Wolf badge, work begins with 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills covering—for example—knowledge of the U.S. flag, a Cub Scout's religious duties, and other age-appropriate educational activities. When the 12 are completed, the Wolf badge is presented at a pack meeting.


The Bear rank is for boys who have completed second grade (or are 9 years old). 
For the Bear rank, 12 achievements are required, just as for Wolf. However, boys have 24 from which to choose, organized into four categories: God, Country, Family, and Self. The requirements are more challenging than those for the Wolf rank.


Webelos, an acronym for "We'll Be Loyal Scouts", is the rank for boys who have completed third grade (or are 10 years old). 
The Webelos Scout advancement plan has two primary components: the Webelos badge and the Arrow of Light Award. Both are based on activity badges that range from Aquanaut and Sportsman to Geologist and Forester.  The Webelos badge calls for earning three of them, along with several other requirements listed in the Webelos Handbook.
There are 20 activity badges in all. Webelos Scouts may earn as many as they like.


Arrow of Light Award

The Arrow of Light Award is Cub Scouting's highest rank. It is earned after fulfilling the requirements for the Webelos badge, usually during the second-year Webelos program. Much of the experience gives Webelos Scouts the chance to practice skills that prepare them to become Boy Scouts. Once completed, the award should be presented during an impressive pack ceremony involving Scouts from a local Scout troop. Their involvement may encourage eventual "bridging" recipients into the troop.